SFC Faculty Award Rules

Approved by the Joint Steering Committee Sept. 23, 2020

Eligibility

Of the faculties and graduate schools at Keio University Shonan Fujisawa Campus, the award pertains to the Faculties of Policy Management, Environment and Information Studies, and Nursing and Medical Care, and the Graduate School of Media and Governance. Faculty members (including those affiliated with other campuses) are nominated for their activities that took place during the period beginning from April of the relevant academic year to the end of March of the following year. "Faculty member" refers to tenured faculty members as well as non-tenured faculty members, visiting assistant professors (full-time), guest faculty members, guest professors, part-time lecturers, and project faculty members.

Objective

By highlighting faculty members' activities to serve as models for others, the award aims to promote the sustainable and autonomous development of SFC.

Method of Selection

Based on nominations from faculty members, staff members, or students, selection of recipients will be made through deliberation by the dean of the faculty or graduate school to which the nominees belong.

Method of Nomination

Nominations will be made as follows:

- 1. Faculty members may nominate one or more faculty members, including themselves.
- Students may nominate one or more faculty members who oversee their class or seminar, or are the student's mentor, main research advisor, co-research advisor, or the equivalent.
- 3. Staff members may nominate one or more faculty members.
- 4. Nominations should be accompanied by a 200- to 400-word explanation of the reasons for the nomination.

<u>Announcement</u>

After recipients are selected, an announcement will be made in a timely manner by the dean of the faculty or graduate school to which the recipient belongs, and the announcement will be posted on the SFC website.

Supplementary Awards

Certificates and supplementary awards will be given out as determined by the deans of the faculties and graduate school.